Welcome to The
Nestled in the rolling, green hills of Orange County, New York, stands The Bull Stone House and, the only example of a New World Dutch Barn still standing in Orange County. The house is a living museum that, along with the barn, is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. It was built in 1722 by William Bull and Sarah Wells who were among the first settlers in Orange County.
William Bull was an English stonemason and immigrated to New York in 1715. He was hired by Daniel Crommelin to help build a house on Crommelin's portion of the Wawayanda Patent. Sarah Wells was an indentured servant of Christopher and Elizabeth Denn. Sarah settled Denn's property on the Wawayanda patent in 1712 when she was a young woman of 16 years. She sailed up the Hudson on a sloop from New York City with three carpenters and three Indian guides, landing in New Windsor. Her party then traveled through the wild country along the Moodna Creek to reach Denn's property. William and Sarah were the first recorded marriage in the Town of Goshen in 1718.
Descendants of William and Sarah and their twelve children still gather in reunion every year since 1868 at the Annual Bull Family Reunion and Picnic. Typically, more than 300 family members attend the picnic from all over the United States and Canada.
Please contact The Stone House to arrange a tour for your family, students, scouts, 4H’ers, or anyone interested in exploring and discovering New York State and Colonial America’s rich history. email@example.com
The William Bull and Sarah Wells Stone House Association, Inc is pleased to announce ~
The updated corporate by-laws of the William Bull and Sarah Wells Stone House Association, Inc. were approved by the membership at the annual business meeting on August 4, 2018.
Additionally, congratulations to our newly elected trustees:
We look forward to a continued determination to preserve, maintain and share the legacy of our historic ancestors.
Bull Family members: want to be sure you receive all the latest news of all things Bull? Sign up to receive our emails here. It's not spam, it's Bull!
The William Bull and Sarah Wells Stone House Association is proud to be a part of the Blue Star Museums Initiative. Blue Star Museums is a collaboration among the National Endowment of the Arts, Blue Star Families, the Department of Defense, and more than 1,500 museums across America. First launched in the summer of 2010, Blue Star Museums offers free admission to all active duty military personnel and their families from Memorial Day through Labor Day.